Central securities depository - Maroclear

Central securities depository - Maroclear

The central depository is an organization responsible for keeping securities on behalf of its affiliates and for the management of the settlement system. It is a central component in the structure of securities flows in financial markets and in a dematerialized environment, in particular, which brings the necessary security and fluidity for the proper functioning of the post-market.

The block diagram of a central depository is based on a fundamental principle. Securities issuers (publicly traded companies, for example) open an issue account with the central depository corresponding to the total number of shares issued. The corresponding accounts are those of account holders (banks, for example) that hold the shares on their behalf or on behalf of their clients. Also, the central depository records all movements generated by the trading of securities (stock exchange transactions, transfers, trading transactions, etc.).

Maroclear was established in 1997 in a period characterized by the dematerialization of securities and the adoption of a series of international standards for securities settlement systems.
It manages the settlement system for stock market transactions and OTC markets while adopting standardized patterns, largely automated processes and security settlement through the payment system of Bank Al-Maghrib.

Maroclear Missions

The main missions of Maroclear are:

  • Appropriate custody of the  entrusted securities;
  • The administration of securities accounts opened on behalf of its members in accordance with applicable law;
  • Control of the record keeping of securities of account holders and, in particular, verification of accounting balances, as defined in the statute, under the general regime of account registration;
  • The implementation of all related activities to facilitate the achievement of its mission, in particular the codification of securities

 

Text Resize

Le Dépositaire Central - Maroclear

Le Dépositaire Central - Maroclear

Le dépositaire central est un organisme chargé d’assurer la conservation des titres pour le compte de ses affiliés et de gérer le système de règlement livraison. C’est une composante  centrale dans l’organisation des flux des titres dans un marché financier et, en particulier, dans un environnement de titres dématérialisés, lequel apporte la sécurité et la fluidité nécessaires au bon fonctionnement des processus post-marché.    

Le schéma de fonctionnement d’un dépositaire central repose sur un principe fondamental relativement simple. Les émetteurs de titres (les sociétés cotées en bourse, par exemple) ouvrent un compte émission auprès du dépositaire central qui correspond au nombre total des titres émis. Les comptes correspondants sont ceux des teneurs de compte (les banques, par exemple) qui conservent les titres pour le compte de leurs clients. Aussi, le dépositaire central enregistre tous les mouvements qui engendrent une circulation des titres (transactions en bourse, transferts, opérations sur titres, etc.)

Maroclear a été créé en 1997 dans un contexte caractérisé par la dématérialisation des titres et l’adoption d’une série de normes internationales en matière des systèmes de règlement livraison.

Il gère le système de dénouement, pour les transactions de bourse et la filière  de gré à gré, en adoptant des schémas normalisés, des processus largement automatisés et une sécurité de règlement via le système de paiement de Bank Al-Maghrib.   

Les missions de Maroclear

Les principales missions de Maroclear sont :

  • La réalisation de tous actes de conservation adaptés à la nature et à la forme des titres qui lui sont confiés ;
  • L’administration des comptes courants de valeurs mobilières ouverts au nom de ses affiliés (teneurs de compte) conformément à la loi en vigueur ;
  • Le contrôle de la tenue de la comptabilité titres des teneurs de comptes et, en particulier, la vérification des équilibres comptables, tels que définis dans la loi, dans le cadre du régime général de l’inscription en compte ;
  • La réalisation de toutes activités connexes permettant de faciliter la réalisation de ses missions  et, notamment, la codification des valeurs admises à ses opérations.

 

 

 

Text Resize