History

Since its establishment, the AMMC has undergone several milestones in the process of its development both in terms of its organization and operation and in terms of its missions. The main objective is to provide the market authority with necessary powers along with sufficient means of action to ensure effective supervision of both markets and professionals and more generally sustain the market development process.

Key dates marking the history of the Authority:

1993:

A turning point was the year which marked the start up of the financial markets modernization process in Morocco. It enacts the promulgation of a series of founding laws to guarantee a modern organization of the markets and to announce the creation of new institutions. It is in this context that the market authority, named then CDVM, the Stock Exchange managing company, the brokerage firms and UCITS have been created.

1994:

The first meeting of the Capital Market Authority’s Board of Directors.

1996:

 The establishment of the central depository system and the introduction of securities book- entry system;

2004:

The empowerment of the capital market authority:

  • Enlargement of the membership of the Board of Directors while maintaining the balance between government representatives and expert members;
  • Establishment of the Examination Joint Committee by the Authority;
  • Extending the  Authority’ control power to all market participants;
  • Possibility of  issuing circulars applicable to all operators subject to the control of  the Authority;
  • Enlargement of the Authority’s investigative powers, by recognizing audition, injunction, search and seizure powers. Some of these powers are exercised under the supervision of judicial authorities;
  • Recognition of the possibility of concluding bilateral or multilateral agreements with foreign authorities to exchange information and conduct investigations upon request of these authorities, subject to reciprocity.

2007:

The Authority was approved as a signatory of the Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding / MMOU of the IOSCO. As a matter of fact, Morocco has become the 44th international signatory and the third African one. This signature is an acknowledgement of the conformity of the Authority and the governing laws of the Moroccan capital markets with the international financial regulation standards.

2008:

  • The authority was elected as member of the IOSCO Executive Committee, which is the Organization's highest decision-making body.
  • The Authority adopted its General Regulations specifying in particular the ethical rules applicable to its board of directors and staff, the procedures for preparing circulars and consulting professionals, the functioning of the examination Joint Committee, the contradictory procedure and the penalties range applied to professionals under its control.

2009:

  • The Authority has adopted a new organizational structure in line with developments in international standards of financial markets supervision. This new organization provides new teams dedicated to new activities, namely public education activity and the empowerment of people operating within market participants.
  • In its ongoing search for efficiency, the authority has adopted since March 2009, a quality management system that obtained the IS0 9001: 2008v for regulatory activities.

2010:

  • The Authority has been very active in international forums and has participated in several world events so as to promote regional Moroccan financial center to raise the functioning standards of the capital market to meet the highest international standards and to reiterate its commitment to international cooperation.
  • Execution of the first follow-up audit of the management system of the Authority quality by an external audit office, a year after obtaining the ISO 9001 certification.
  • In the area of ​​information systems, two developmental projects have been completed: Development of a strategic plan of the Authority information system and consolidation of infrastructure and IT security.

2011:

  • The Authority has completed its circulars consolidation project, providing thereby market participants with a single document containing all the rules governing the activities under the authority control.
  • The overhaul of the website and its availability in three languages ​​helps to further clarify to investors the overall approach to regulation.

2012:

  • The Authority has been appointed as the new member of the IOSCO standing committees. These committees consist mainly of authorities representing the most developed markets and are dedicated to developing standards and recommendations on regulation of the securities markets and derivatives markets.

2013:

  • Publication in the Official Bulletin of April 11th, 2013, of Law No. 43-12, which strengthens the independence and autonomy of the regulatory authority and grants it great powers covering all the capital market participants. It also provides the CDVM transition process to the AMMC and contains general provisions on the establishment of the regulatory authority.
  • Publication in the Official Bulletin of January 24th, 2013, of Law No. 44-12 on the Public offerings dissociated from the proper law of the regulator. The provisions governing the public offerings are now the subject of an appropriate Law covering as well transactions not constituting public offerings and determining the qualified investors. By expanding the list of financial instruments, subject to the public offering, the new Law extends the notion of persons making public offerings to institutions making public offerings. The new Law on public offerings has introduced the following major steps:
  • Defining advertising, canvassing and financial intermediaries’ concepts.
  • Determining the private investment frame by introducing conditions allowing the monitoring of investments by the Authority, empowering more stakeholders (issuers and investors) while increasing the transparency of the operation.
  • Internationally, the Authority confirmed its presence in the various international bodies regulating the financial markets and actively participated in various debates and discussions related to its field of action. It has also signed three agreements with the regulatory authorities of Central Africa, West Africa and Luxembourg Financial Sector Supervisory Commission and a memorandum of understanding with all European regulators as part of the AIFM directive on alternative investment fund managers.

2014:

Publication in the Official Bulletin of June 9th, 2014, of Law No. 42-12 on the futures market which determines and defines:

  • Financial instruments that can be traded on the futures market
  • Market institutions that will be responsible for managing this market
  • The operators of the futures market and its operating rules
  • The market authorities who will control the institutions and futures market operators

2015:

Successful rollout of SESAM platform across all stakeholders and market businesses. The reporting and authorization requests from stakeholders are now processed by the Authority exclusively via this platform, which allowed improving the processing deadline through process optimization and automation of consistency and completeness checks.

2016:

 His Majesty King Mohamed VI, May God Assist Him, appointed on February 6th, 2016, Ms. Nezha Hayat as Chairperson and CEO of the AMMC.

Text Resize

Historique

Depuis son institution, l'autorité marocaine du marché des capitaux (ci-après l'"autorité") a connu plusieurs étapes qui ont marqué son évolution tant sur le plan de son organisation et son mode de fonctionnement que sur le plan des missions qui lui sont dévolues. L’objectif principal étant de doter l’autorité des pouvoirs nécessaires et de lui fournir les moyens d’actions suffisants afin d’assurer une surveillance efficace des marchés et des intervenants et plus globalement accompagner le processus de développement des marchés. Les principales dates qui marquent l’histoire de l'autorité sont :

1993 :

Année charnière qui marque le point de démarrage du processus de modernisation des marchés financiers au Maroc. Elle consacre la promulgation d’une série de textes fondateurs qui posent les jalons d’une organisation moderne des marchés et annoncent la création d’institutions nouvelles. C’est dans ce contexte qu’ont été créés le régulateur du marché des capitaux, dénommé alors CDVM, la société gestionnaire de la bourse des valeurs, les sociétés de bourse et les OPCVM.

1994 :

Tenue du premier Conseil d’Administration du régulateur du marché des capitaux.

1996 :

La création du dépositaire central et l'instauration du régime de dématérialisation des titres.

2004 :

Le renforcement des pouvoirs de l'autorité du marché des capitaux :

  • Elargissement de la composition du Conseil d’Administration tout en maintenant l’équilibre entre les représentants de l’administration et les membres experts ;
  • Institution de la commission paritaire d’examen auprès de l'autorité ;
  • Extension du pouvoir de contrôle de l'autorité à l’ensemble des opérateurs du marché ;
  • Possibilité d’édicter des circulaires qui s’appliquent à l’ensemble des opérateurs soumis au contrôle de l'autorité ;
  • Elargissement du pouvoir d’investigation de l'autorité, par la reconnaissance du pouvoir d’audition, d’injonction, de perquisition et de saisie. Certains de ces pouvoirs sont exercés sous la supervision des autorités judiciaires ;
  • Reconnaissance à l'autorité de la possibilité de conclure des conventions bilatérales ou multilatérales avec des autorités étrangères homologues permettant l’échange d’information et la conduite d’enquêtes sur demande desdites autorités, sous réserve de la réciprocité.

2007 :

L'autorité a été cooptée en tant que signataire de la convention Multilatérale d’échange et de coopération (Multilateral Memorandum of Understanding/MMOU) de l’OICV. Ainsi, le Maroc est devenu le 44ème pays signataire et le 3ème pays Africain. Cette signature est un acte de reconnaissance de la conformité de l'autorité et de la législation régissant les marchés de capitaux au Maroc aux standards internationaux dans le domaine de la régulation financière.

2008 :

  • L'autorité a été élue membre du Comité Exécutif de l’OICV, la plus haute instance de cette organisation;
  • L’adoption du règlement général de l'autorité, précisant notamment les règles déontologiques applicables aux membres de son conseil d’administration et de son personnel, les modalités d’élaboration des circulaires et de consultation avec les professionnels, le fonctionnement de la commission paritaire d’examen, la procédure du contradictoire et le barème des sanctions applicables aux opérateurs soumis à son contrôle.

2009 :

  • L'autorité a adopté une nouvelle organisation en cohérence avec les évolutions des standards internationaux en matière de supervision des marchés de capitaux. Cette nouvelle organisation prévoit la mise à disposition d’équipes dédiées à de nouvelles activités, à savoir l'activité d’éducation du public et l'activité d’habilitation des personnes opérant au sein des intervenants de marché;
  • Dans sa recherche permanente d’efficacité, l'autorité a adopté, depuis mars 2009, un système de management de la qualité qui a obtenu la certification IS0 9001 version 2008 pour les activités de régulation.

2010 :

  • L'autorité a été très active au niveau des instances internationales et a participé à plusieurs événements tant mondiaux que régionaux afin de promouvoir la place financière marocaine, de hisser les normes de fonctionnement du marché de capitaux aux meilleurs standards internationaux et de réitérer son engagement en faveur de la coopération internationale;
  • Réalisation du premier audit de suivi du système de management de la qualité de l'autorité par un bureau de vérification externe et ce, une année après l’obtention de la certification ISO 9001;
  • Dans le domaine des systèmes d’information, deux projets structurants ont été menés. Il s’agit de l’élaboration d’un plan stratégique du système d’information de l'autorité et la consolidation de l’infrastructure et de la sécurité informatique.

2011 :

  • L'autorité a achevé son projet de consolidation de ses circulaires mettant ainsi à la disposition des acteurs du marché un document unique regroupant l'ensemble des règles régissant les activités soumises au contrôle de l'autorité;
  • La refonte du site internet et sa disponibilité en trois langues contribue à clarifier davantage auprès des investisseurs l'approche globale de la régulation.

2012 :

  • L'autorité a été désigné en sa qualité de nouveau membre des comités permanents de l’OICV. Ces comités sont principalement constitués d’autorités représentant les marchés les plus développés et ont pour mission d’élaborer des normes et des recommandations en matière de régulation des marchés des valeurs mobilières et des produits dérivés.

2013 :

  • Publication au Bulletin Officiel, du 11 avril 2013, de la loi n°43-12 qui renforce l’indépendance et l’autonomie de l’autorité de régulation et la dote de pouvoirs étendus affectant l’ensemble des acteurs du marché des capitaux. Elle prévoit aussi le changement du CDVM en AMMC et contient toutes les dispositions générales relatives à la mise en place de l’autorité de régulation;
  • Publication au Bulletin Officiel, du 24 janvier 2013, de la loi n°44-12 sur l'APE dissociée de la loi propre au régulateur. Les dispositions régissant l’APE font désormais l'objet d’un texte approprié abordant aussi les opérations ne constituant pas appel publique à l’épargne et déterminant les investisseurs qualifiés. En élargissant la liste des instruments financiers, objet de l’APE, le nouveau texte étend la notion de personnes faisant appel public à l’épargne à celles des organismes faisant APE. Le nouveau texte sur l’APE a permis d’introduire les principales mesures suivantes :
    • La définition des notions de publicité, démarchage et intermédiaires financiers;
    • La précision du cadre du placement privé en introduisant des conditions permettant le suivi du placement par l'autorité, en responsabilisant davantage les intervenants (émetteurs et souscripteurs) tout en renforçant la transparence de l’opération.
  • Sur le plan international, l'autorité a confirmé sa présence au niveau des différentes instances internationales de régulation des marchés financiers et a participé activement aux différents débats et réflexions en relation avec son domaine d’intervention. Elle a, par ailleurs, signé trois accords avec les autorités de régulation de l’Afrique centrale, de l’Afrique de l’ouest et avec la commission de surveillance du secteur financier du Luxembourg et un mémorandum of understanding avec l’ensemble des régulateurs européens dans le cadre de la directive AIFM sur les gestionnaires de fonds alternatifs.

2014 :

  • Publication au BO, du 9 juin 2014, de la loi n°42-12 sur le marché à terme qui détermine et définit :
    • Les instruments financiers qui peuvent être négociés sur le marché à terme;
    • Les institutions du marché qui seront chargées de gérer ce marché;
    • Les opérateurs du marché à terme et ses règles de fonctionnement;
    • Les autorités de marché qui contrôleront les institutions et les opérateurs du marché à terme.

    2015 :

    • Déploiement avec succès de la plateforme SESAM auprès de tous les intervenants et entreprises de marché. Les reportings et les demandes d’autorisations émanant des intervenants sont désormais pris en charge par l'autorité exclusivement via cette plateforme, qui lui a permis une amélioration des délais de traitement grâce à l’optimisation des processus et à l’automatisation des contrôles de cohérence et d’exhaustivité.

    2016 :

    • Nomination par Sa Majesté le Roi Mohamed VI, que Dieu l'assiste, le 6 février 2016, de Madame Nezha Hayat en tant que Présidente de l'AMMC.

Text Resize