Custodian

Custodian

Account keeping is an activity whereby a financial intermediary shall open securities accounts, record securities transactions and insure custody of assets for its clients. This activity is performed by account Keepers authorized by order of the Ministry of Finance, after the Central Depository recommendation.

The main securities account holders are banks, brokerage firms and issuers.
The scope of their activities covers the following services:

Custody of securities

It involves the custody of the clients’ securities accounts records for inventory management purpose and settlement of transactions. It also includes informing clients of any operation affecting their accounts.

Securities Transactions Operations

It concerns the execution on behalf of clients of various transactions in the context of financial securities trading such as subscriptions to capital increases, the payment of shares dividends and bonds interests etc.

Services offered to issuers

An account keeper can provide services to issuers regarding securities transactions.   The services offered consist in centralizing the management of flow for cash and securities, and of relations with the central depository and of other account holders affected by the transaction. These include operations related to dividends or capital increases.

Discretionary account keeping

An account holder may delegate the activity of accounts keeping with another account holder under a management mandate. This service is also used by issuers who prefer to entrust their accounts management at Maroclear to other account holders, mostly banks.

Record keeping for foreign intermediaries

An account holder can also offer specific services relating to keeping accounts to foreign intermediaries who invest in the Moroccan financial market. These services are tailored to the profile of foreign professionals and require appropriate technical and organizational means.

 

Custodian Agreement number Agreement date Category
AL BARID BANK Banque
Arab Bank Banque
ArtBourse N°3-3150 19/05/2008 Société de bourse
Atlas Capital Bourse N° 3-9212 25/10/2002 Société de bourse
Attijariwafa Bank Banque
Banque Centrale Populaire Banque
BMCE Bank Banque
BMCE Capital Bourse N°03/26 28/10/1994 Société de bourse
BMCI Banque
CDG Banque

Text Resize

Teneurs de comptes

Teneurs de comptes

La tenue de comptes est une activité par laquelle un intermédiaire financier procède à l’ouverture de comptes titres, à l’enregistrement  des opérations sur les titres et à la conservation des actifs au profit de ses clients. Cette activité est exercée par des teneurs de comptes habilités par arrêté du ministre chargé des finances, après avis du dépositaire central.

Les principaux teneurs de comptes titres sont les banques, les sociétés de bourse et les émetteurs.

La conservation des titres

Elle consiste en la tenue de la comptabilité titres des comptes courants des clients à des fins de reconstitution des stocks et des flux de dénouement des transactions boursières. Elle inclut également l’information des clients sur toute opération ou tout flux affectant les comptes.

La réalisation d’opérations sur titres (OST)  

Elle concerne l’exécution pour le compte des clients de divers traitements  dans le cadre d’opérations financières sur titres telles que les souscriptions à des augmentations de capital, le paiement des dividendes sur les actions et des intérêts sur les obligations etc.

Les services aux émetteurs

Un teneur de comptes peut offrir des services aux émetteurs dans le cadre d’opérations sur titres qui consistent à centraliser la gestion des flux titres et espèces y afférents ainsi que les relations avec le dépositaire central et les autres teneurs de comptes concernés par l’opération. Il s’agit notamment des opérations de paiement des dividendes ou d’augmentations de capital.  

La tenue de comptes sous mandat

Un teneur de comptes peut sous-traiter l’activité de tenue de comptes auprès d’un autre teneur de comptes en vertu d’un mandat de gestion. Ce service est utilisé également par les émetteurs de titres qui préfèrent  confier la gestion de leurs comptes chez Maroclear à d’autres teneurs de comptes, essentiellement des établissements bancaires.  

La tenue de comptes au profit d’intermédiaires étrangers (Custody)

Un teneur de comptes peut également offrir des services spécifiques relatifs à la tenue de comptes aux intermédiaires étrangers qui investissent sur le marché financier marocain. Ces services sont adaptés à ce profil d’intervenants et nécessite des moyens techniques et organisationnels appropriés.

Teneurs de comptes N° Agrément Date agrément Catégorie
AL BARID BANK Banque
Arab Bank Banque
ArtBourse N°3-3150 19/05/2008 Société de bourse
Atlas Capital Bourse N° 3-9212 25/10/2002 Société de bourse
Attijariwafa Bank Banque
Banque Centrale Populaire Banque
BMCE Bank Banque
BMCE Capital Bourse N°03/26 28/10/1994 Société de bourse
BMCI Banque
CDG Banque

Text Resize